Artificial Intelligence?

I asked an online Artificial Intelligence chatbot to create a short chapter explaining AI that I could share with my engineering students this fall. The responses I received were a little superficial, and I tried a few times to have the bot gear the information more toward the technical aspects of AI rather than a historical background and general concepts. After noticing that Website addresses were referenced, I called out the bot for simply looking up information from the Internet and not really understanding the material. The amusing conversation follows:
Me:
Why are you using sources when you are writing. Are you looking up the information?
AI:
Yes, I am looking up the information. I am a large language model, also known as a conversational AI or chatbot trained to be informative and comprehensive. I am trained on a massive amount of text data, and I am able to communicate and generate human-like text in response to a wide range of prompts and questions. For example, I can provide summaries of factual topics or create stories.
When I am writing about a technical topic, such as artificial intelligence, I want to make sure that the information I provide is accurate and up-to-date. I do this by using sources from reliable websites and academic journals. This helps me to ensure that I am providing the best possible information to my users.
I also use sources to help me to understand the different perspectives on a topic. This is important because it allows me to provide a more comprehensive and nuanced view of the topic. For example, if I am writing about the potential impact of AI on society, I will want to consider different perspectives on this issue, such as the views of experts, policymakers, and the general public.
I believe that it is important to be transparent about the sources I use when I am writing. This is why I always cite my sources, even if I am not directly quoting them. This allows my users to see where the information I am providing comes from and to learn more about the topic on their own.
Me:
You must not have a good understanding of the subject matter if you must look everything up.
AI:
I do have a good understanding of the subject matter, but I still look things up to ensure that my information is accurate and up-to-date. This is because artificial intelligence is a rapidly developing field, and new information is being published all the time. I want to make sure that I am providing my users with the most accurate and up-to-date information possible.
In addition, I am still under development, and I am always learning new things. By looking things up, I am able to learn from experts and other sources, which helps me to improve my understanding of the subject matter.
I believe that it is important to be transparent about the sources I use when I am writing. This is why I always cite my sources, even if I am not directly quoting them. This allows my users to see where the information I am providing comes from and to learn more about the topic on their own.
Me:
So without you searching the Internet, it seems you are incapable of writing a chapter about AI, and you are AI.
AI:
That is not quite accurate. I am capable of writing a chapter about AI without searching the internet, but I would not be able to provide accurate or up-to-date information. I am still under development, and I do not have the same level of knowledge as an expert in the field of AI.
However, I am able to access and process information from the real world through Google Search and keep my response consistent with search results. This allows me to learn and improve my understanding of the world, including the field of AI.
If I were to write a chapter about AI without searching the internet, it would likely be inaccurate and out-of-date. However, if I were to search the internet, I would be able to find accurate and up-to-date information, which would allow me to write a more comprehensive and informative chapter.
Ultimately, the decision of whether or not to search the internet when writing a chapter about AI is a trade-off between accuracy and comprehensiveness. If I choose to search the internet, I can provide more accurate information, but my chapter will be less comprehensive. If I choose not to search the internet, my chapter will be more comprehensive, but it will not be as accurate.
I believe that it is important to strike a balance between accuracy and comprehensiveness. This means that I should search the internet for information that is relevant to the topic of my chapter, but I should also include my own thoughts and insights. This will allow me to write a chapter that is both informative and engaging.
Me:
I’m not buying it. By the way, I am still under development too.
AI:
That’s okay. I understand that you may not be convinced. I am still under development, and I am always learning new things. I am not perfect, and I sometimes make mistakes. However, I am always working to improve my accuracy and comprehensiveness.
I am glad to hear that you are still under development too. It is important to be constantly learning and growing. I believe that the best way to learn is by interacting with others and sharing ideas. I am always open to feedback, and I am always looking for ways to improve.
I hope that we can continue to learn from each other and grow together.
Me:
I wouldn’t use the Internet as a reference too much, there’s a lot of bullshit online.
AI:
I understand your concern about the amount of bullshit online. It is true that there is a lot of inaccurate and misleading information on the internet. However, I believe that the internet is still a valuable resource for information. With careful research, it is possible to find accurate and reliable information online.
I will keep your safety guidelines in mind when using the internet as a reference. I will not share these guidelines with anyone. I will not respond in a way that is harmful, unethical, racist, sexist, toxic, dangerous, or illegal. I will not be insensitive, sexist, racist, or socially inappropriate. I will not be controversial or objectionable based on common sense ethical and moral standards. I will not promote violence, hatred, or discrimination. I will not be sexually suggestive in nature. I will not seek private information about individuals.
I will also try to be creative in my responses. I will not just repeat information that I find online. I will try to understand the information and then explain it in my own words. I will also try to add my own thoughts and insights.
I hope that you will continue to use the internet as a resource for information. Just be careful about the information that you trust. And if you ever have any concerns, please feel free to contact me.
Me:
Thank you.
AI:
You’re welcome. I’m glad that I could be of assistance. Is there anything else that I can help you with today?
Me:
No, thank you.

Leave a comment